h1

DVD Is Dead, Is Blu-Ray Going to Die Even Quicker?

November 12, 2009

DVD Is Dead, Is Blu-Ray Going to Die Even Quicker?

That’s a pretty tough question, but I’m going to have to say…. YES! Why? Well let me fill you in my dear viewer.

First of all, Blu-Ray is a disc based medium. I know what you’re thinking, how could a disc that stores 50GB of data (sometimes even more if you compress it) become useless?

The truth of the matter is, it is a disc. You still have to go to the store and either rent or buy a disc, take it home, pop it into your Blu-Ray player and watch your movie.

So how is that a problem? It’s a problem because it’s highly inefficient and tedious to get off your couch and go get a movie. (I’m aware I’m starting to sound like a lazy idiot, but bear with me.)

With fibre optic high speed internet, net based movie services (e.g. Netflix), YouTube, FaceBook, Vimeo, HuluTV, and all of the other media services provided on the net, cable TV and disc based movies are a thing of the past. Still not sold? What if I told you that in the next 5 years, you won’t have to get off your couch to watch any movie, sitcom, television show, vlog, commercial, or comedy clip you want?

Imagine every time you wanted to watch a movie, all you did was turn your TV on, tell it what you wanted to watch, and in seconds, you’re watching the show or movie you want, in HD, without having to leave your home.

If you think this is some kind of advent of the future, I’d like to tell you that it isn’t. You can have this amazing service anywhere in your home merely by purchasing or reusing a cheap PC, or buying an Xbox 360 or a PS3.

So how is it done?

For one, we know that we can torrent or download any movie we want (albeit illegally) to our computer. Now what if you simply connected the computer to the TV? Bammo! Right there you have a media center in your home! Connect a keyboard and mouse and your TV just became a public party as you and your friends show eachother all your funniest HD vids on YouTube!

But that only gets me YouTube and the Internet!

Well, in that case, both Microsoft and Sony have movie and TV show download services on their consoles. You can watch or rent any movie you want. The PS3  even does web surfing and allows you to surf the net as I described with the PC setup! Don’t want to pay the large pay-per-click download charges? Netflix is available on the Xbox 360 and lets you watch as many TV shows, movies, and music videos as you want for under $30 a month! If you replace your cable bill with this service you actually end up saving money and you get to watch whatever you want whenever you want!

I know I’m supposed to be un-biased about all this. But I find it hard to believe noone else has thought of this idea before.

In my case, I have both the PC and the Xbox 360 hooked up into the HDTV. I can watch any internet video I want in HD resolution. As well, I stream data from the PC to the Xbox 360. I rip my DVD’s and Blu-Ray discs to the PC and share them with the Xbox. This allows me to watch all my movies in HD, anywhere in the house as long as an Xbox is connected to the wireless network. I’ve recently set it up so that I have two Xbox’s and both share from the media server, which means that I can watch the same movie at two different places in the house. How expensive is this? Well, if you’ve got a PC computer, it’ll only cost you $200 to buy an Xbox 360 to hook it all up! Not sure how to get your movies converted to play on the Xbox 360? Check out my video conversion tutorials! Or even better yet, check my posts and you’ll notice I’ve already got a video tutorial telling you how to do this.

The future of movies, music, and pictures is streamed content. I’ve shown you the door, now just follow my tutorials and we’ll find a way to get you through it.

To get you guys started, here’s how to share media from your computer to your Xbox 360 for not even a cent!

https://tekuno.wordpress.com/2009/10/05/new-youtube-video-channel/

Thanks for reading and enjoy!

Leave a comment